Head of EYFS’S (Early Years Foundation Stage) message


Pick Me Academy Nursery School is a community of children, families and teachers committed to learning and growing through a process of research and discovery.

We aim to create a nurturing and stimulating environment in which children's curiosity is respected, creativity valued, and collaborations supported.

We seek to strengthen our connection to resources in our world, including our community, neighborhood, city, and natural and found materials.

Our hope is that during their time at Beginnings and beyond, children will deepen their love of learning, develop a thoughtful awareness of themselves and others, and have the confidence to pursue their passions.

Claudia Ciolacu
Warmest wishes Claudia Ciolacu

EYFS Curriculum Overview

The curriculum aims are to rise standards, to prepare our children for a future they do not yet know and equip them for jobs of tomorrow in a fast-changing world.

The British Curriculum enables professionals to teach subjects creatively, to work together across the school and within other schools, to share best practice and explore learning together. Teachers and practitioners will share information to plan a child’s “learning journey” from 1,6 -7 years old, helping their progression from nursery to primary, ensuring that the change is smooth.

Every child is entitled to a broad and deep general education, whatever their level and ability. Every single teacher and practitioner will be responsible for literacy and numeracy- the language and number skills that unlock other subjects and are vital for everyday life. It brings real life into the classroom, making learning relevant, and helps young people apply lessons to their life beyond the classroom.

Our Curriculum balances the importance of knowledge and skills, and is defined by capacities, principles, experience and outcomes. The capacities aim to develop successful learners, confident individuals, responsible citizens and effective contributors.

The design of the curriculum is based on seven principles:


The Early Years Curriculum is based on seven key areas of learnin

In the Nursery Classes we focus strongly on the three Prime Areas which are the basis for successful learning in the other four specific areas:

  • Personal, social and emotional development;
  • Physical development
  • Communication and language

Personal, social, and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behavior in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.

As children grow in confidence and ability within the three prime areas, the balance will slowly shift towards a more equal focus on all seven areas of learning, including:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Literacy development involves encouraging children to read and write, both through listening to others reading, and being encouraged to begin to read and write themselves. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials – books, poems, and other written materials, to ignite their interest. Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to practice and improve their skills in counting numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems, and to describe shapes, spaces, and measures. Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment. Expressive arts and design involves supporting children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.